Why can't the land title office give me legal advice?

Land title staff are unable to advise on legal rights or actions associated with land titles and charges. The Registrar of Land Titles and staff...

What is the address for the land title office?

The LTSA has land title offices in Kamloops, New Westminster and Victoria. For hours and address information, visit...

What is the LTSA's mandate?

Established in 2005, the Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia (LTSA) is a publicly accountable, statutory corporation responsible...

To whom is the LTSA accountable?

The LTSA is accountable to the users of British Columbia's land title and survey systems. Accountability and transparency of LTSA operations is...

Why is it important to hire a professional?

Professionals such as lawyers, notaries public, real estate agents and land surveyors contribute to having a high quality land title system in BC...

The Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia (LTSA) Board of Directors has completed its annual legislated Board Renewal Process, resulting in the following appointments to the LTSA Board of Directors, effective April 1, 2017:

New Appointment for a Three Year Term

  • Scott Smythe - nominated by the Law Society of British Columbia

Re-Appointments for an Additional Three Year Term

  • O'Brian Blackall - nominated by the Association of British Columbia Land Surveyors
  • Janice Comeau - nominated by the Province of British Columbia
  • Eugen Klein - nominated by the British Columbia Real Estate Association

Janice Comeau was elected as Board Chair with effect April 1, 2017. Janice was originally appointed to the LTSA Board as a nominee of the Province of British Columbia in 2011. In 2014, she was appointed for a second three-year term, and this year's appointment marks the beginning of the third and final three-year term. Janice has been Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee since April 1, 2014.

Geoff Plant, nominee of the Law Society of BC and LTSA Chair for the previous six years, completed his maximum nine years as a Board member on March 31, 2017. Geoff's background as former Attorney General of BC, partner at the law firm of Gall Legge Grant & Munroe, and extensive Board experience has provided excellent leadership to the LTSA.

View the current listing of LTSA Board Directors and their biographies.