Why can't the land title office give me legal advice?

Land title staff are unable to advise on legal rights or actions associated with land titles and charges. The Registrar of Land Titles and staff...

What is the address for the land title office?

The LTSA has land title offices in Kamloops, New Westminster and Victoria. For hours and address information, visit...

What is the LTSA's mandate?

Established in 2005, the Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia (LTSA) is a publicly accountable, statutory corporation responsible...

To whom is the LTSA accountable?

The LTSA is accountable to the users of British Columbia's land title and survey systems. Accountability and transparency of LTSA operations is...

Why is it important to hire a professional?

Professionals such as lawyers, notaries public, real estate agents and land surveyors contribute to having a high quality land title system in BC...

Before British Columbia became a Province of Canada on July 20, 1871

  • 1851-1858: Joseph Despard Pemberton, "Colonial Surveyor", Hudson's Bay Co
  • 1859-1864: Joseph Despard Pemberton, Surveyor General of Vancouver Island Colony
  • 1859-1863: Col. Richard Clement Moody, Royal Engineer, "Acting" Surveyor General and Chief Commissioner, Lands and Works, British Columbia Mainland Colony
  • 1864-1866: Benjamin William Pearse, Surveyor General of Vancouver Island Colony
  • 1864-1866: Joseph William Trutch, Surveyor General of British Columbia Mainland Colony
  • 1866-1871: Joseph William Trutch, Surveyor General of British Columbia (United) Colony

Surveyors General of the Province of British Columbia

  • 1871-1872: Benjamin William Pearse
  • 1873-1878: Arthur Stanhope Farwell
  • 1878-1891: William Sinclair Gore
  • 1891-1898: Tom Kains
  • 1898-1905: William Sinclair Gore
  • 1905-1912: Eric Barclay McKay
  • 1912-1917: George Herbert Dawson
  • 1917-1930: Joshua Edler Umbach
  • 1930-1946: Frank Compton Green
  • 1946-1950: Norman Charles Stewart
  • 1950-1951: Frank Ormond Morris
  • 1951-1968: Gerald Smedley Andrews
  • 1968-1975: Arthur Herbert Ralfs
  • 1976-1978: William Alfred Taylor
  • 1978-1981: Ronald William Thorpe
  • 1981-1985: Gerald Tudor Mullin
  • 1985-1995: Donald Armitage Duffy
  • 1995-1996: Patrick Brian Ringwood
  • 1996-2002: Charles Hugh Nowell Salmon
  • 2002-2007: Richard Thomas Hargraves
  • 2007-2019: Michael Gordon Thomson
  • 2019-Present: Cristin Rae Schlossberger