COVID-19 Notice: LTSA Front Counters Open By Appointment Only

Please be aware that LTSA’s Land Title Office front counters are open by appointment only. A new booking and visiting procedure is in place to protect the safety of our customers and staff. Customers can contact the Customer Service Centre to book an in-person visit. Please visit or follow us on Twitter for more information.

The Integrated Survey Area Program establishes an infrastructure of coordinate control monuments within participating municipalities. The network of coordinate control monuments provides a standard vertical and horizontal reference system that supports mapping, engineering, surveying and other works.

There are fifty-two municipalities in BC that are official Integrated Survey Areas (ISAs) consisting of a framework of over 20,000 coordinate control monuments providing the foundation for passive georeferencing activities. ISA passive networks of control points work in conjunction with the British Columbia Active Control System, providing an enhanced georeferencing environment with multiple compatible sources.

Please note:

  • Land surveyors operating within an official integrated survey area are required to tie legal surveys to coordinate control monuments. This requirement supports the ongoing georeferencing of the cadastral fabric.
  • ParcelMap BC Search for Land Surveyors provides access to land cadastral information, including the official published Integrated Survey Area boundaries and locations and details of coordinate control monuments.
  • Access the MASCOT homepage of the GeoBC Division of the Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development to obtain control monument sketches and detailed coordinate information and revision history.
  • Both land surveyors and municipalities have a responsibility to update the condition of coordinate control monuments in an ISA. See Reporting Coordinate Control Monument Condition for more information.

ISA plans and listings

The official ISA boundaries are in digital form and may be viewed within ParcelMap BC for Land Surveyors, or as a ParcelMap BC guest user. The locations of coordinate control monuments are referenced from MASCOT, but can be viewed within ParcelMap BC for Land Surveyors.

Please note:

  • The official ISA coordinate control listings are available by clicking on the appropriate ISA number below.
ISA Number ISA Name
1 Surrey
2 Dawson Creek
3 Nelson
4 Kelowna
5 Elkford (Annulled December 19, 2018 – see Circular Letter No. 480)
6 Granisle
7 Logan Lake
8 Mackenzie
9 Cranbrook
10 North Cowichan
11 Duncan
12 Penticton
13 Delta
14 Coquitlam
16 North Vancouver District
17 Victoria
18 Richmond
19 Vernon
20 Nanaimo
21 Central Saanich
22 North Saanich
23 Kamloops
24 Abbotsford
25 Burnaby
26 Powell River
27 Rossland
28 Campbell River
29 Sidney
30 Saanich
31 Vancouver
32 Parksville
33 Tumbler Ridge
34 Oak Bay
35 Port Moody
36 Maple Ridge
37 Port Alberni
38 Esquimalt
39 Prince George
40 Colwood
41 Langley Township
42 White Rock
43 Ladysmith
44 North Vancouver City
45 Langley City
49 New Westminster
50 Fort St. John
51 Langford
52 Gibsons
54 City of Williams Lake
55 Terrace
68 Kitimat
79 Sechelt
84 Trail

Reporting Coordinate Control Monument Condition

It is the responsibility of land surveyors, under Survey and Plan Rule 2-3(2) and Circular Letter 481, to report damaged or destroyed Integrated Survey Monuments to GeoBC. This can be done using the online Survey Monument Condition Report form.

Municipalities with ISAs within their jurisdiction have a responsibility to maintain an accurate inventory of Integrated Survey Area Control Monuments. Updates to monument condition can be made using the same online Survey Monument Condition Report form through MASCOT or in bulk by sending a spreadsheet of monument condition updates to Bulk submissions need to include the Submitter’s name, contact information, and organization. The table must include entries for the following fields:

Field Name Notes
Bolt/ tablet marker number
Condition Condition must be one of the following:

·         Good Condition

·         Cap Missing

·         Pipe Bent

·         Other Disturbances – Explain in Remarks

·         Not Found

·         Destroyed


Approx. Location Describe the location with street names and distances relative to landmarks.
Remarks Provide details that will be useful to future users.


Reporting monument condition helps maintain an accurate inventory of the monumented control system within the Province of BC and is a benefit to all users and stakeholders of the ISA system.